Monday, August 13, 2007


The People's Democratic Republic of Algeria, in northwest Africa, is part of the Maghreb, a region in North Africa between the Mediterranean Sea and the Sahara. The Maghreb includes the Atlas Mountains and the coastal plain of northwest Africa.
Algeria is Africa's second largest country after Sudan. Algeria has seven neighbours: Tunisia lies to the northeast, Libya to the east, Niger and Mali to the south, and Mauritania, Morocco, and Western Sahara to the west and northwest. TheMediterranean Sea defines Algeria's northern border.
Algeria's position at the crossroads of Europe, Africa, and the Middle East has given it a prominent position in world affairs.

No comments: